Dennis Reviews: Let Me Lie —

Book Title: Let Me Lie Author: Clare Mackintosh REVIEWED BY: DENNIS Series: None Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Crime Fiction Goodreads Pub Date: 03/13/18 4 STARS The police say it was suicide. Anna says it was murder. They’re both wrong. One year ago, Caroline Johnson chose to end her life brutally: a shocking suicide planned to match […]

via Dennis Reviews: Let Me Lie —

Advertisements

The Chalk Man || C.J Tudor

Description:

You can feel it in the woods, in the school and in the playground; you can feel it in the houses and at the fairground. You can feel it in most places in the small town of Anderbury . . . the fear that something or someone is watching you.

It began back in 1986, at the fair, on the day of the accident. That was when twelve-year-old Eddie met Mr Halloran – the Chalk Man.

He gave Eddie the idea for the drawings: a way to leave secret messages for his friends and it was fun, until the chalk men led them to a body.

Thirty years later, Ed believes the past is far behind him, until an envelope slips through the letterbox. It contains a stick of chalk, and a drawing of a figure.

Is history going to repeat itself?

Was it ever really over?

Will this game only end in the same way?

Review:

I have read some amazing novels in my time and some amazing debuts but none quite as outstanding as The Chalk Man.

Our story beings with Ed Adams a normal 12 year old boy with a slight hoarding problem but over than that a decent child with parents who love him. Alongside Eddie are his four best friends Fat Gav, Metal Micky, Hoppo and Nicky. The story starts with a tragic turn of events at a summer fair but determined to make the most out of the summer the gang devises a game where they each leave secret messages in chalk to one another, however unbeknown to them the fair is just the start of the tragedies that will happen in their childhood and the chalk man is never too far away.

This story has a duel timeline, its one of my favourite features of a novel as you really feel the characters grow and what they’ve become and also how they’ve become what they are – we jump between the 1980’s and the 2000’s and you feel as if you’re in both eras in the book – it’s fantastic, however this psychological thriller was fresh, tantalising and original, it’s not like any other I’ve read it’s dark, dangerous and thrilling and you really are sucked into the nightmare from the prologue.

Throughout the story I did feel as if the story was going to go one way, without too many spoilers I felt we were dealing with multiple personality disorders due to trauma however C.J Tudor managed to completely turn it round for me in an absolutely believable way. This novel has the catches your breath moment once the big twist is revealed and I promise it will not disappoint and trust me when I say even when you think you know the characters in this twisted novel – all is definitely not as it seems.

Assuming makes an ass out of u and me.

Five out of five!

41xo7gTk+kL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Her Every Fear || Peter Swanson

Description:

Following a brutal attack, Kate Priddy makes the uncharacteristically bold decision of moving from London to Boston – in an apartment swap with her cousin, Corbin Dell.

But soon after her arrival Kate makes a shocking discovery: Corbin’s next-door neighbour, Audrey Marshall, may have been murdered.

Far from home and emotionally unstable, her imagination playing out her every fear, who can Kate trust?

Review:

Before I start – I want to say it is quite possible I won’t find another book in 2018 that tops Her Every Fear.

Our story starts with Kate an emotionally unstable, anxious woman who has been dealt a cruel hand in life – after suffering the most harrowing ordeal at the hands of her psychotic ex-boyfriend, Kate decides a bold move is exactly what she needs and arranges an apartment swap with her long distance cousin for a period of six months.

When Kate arrives at her cousin’s (Corbin) flat she is alarmed by an irate young woman who is concerned about her friend who lives in the flat opposite and whom she hasn’t heard of in days. This girl must be dead? Or so Kate believes as she jumps to the worst of every conclusion.

However as it happens Kates worst fears are confirmed and the body of Audrey Marshall is discovered in the flat opposite the next day. Why are the police searching Corbin’s flat? Why does Corbin have a key to Audrey’s flat? Could her cousin whom she’s never met be capable of murder?

Peter Swanson absolutely mastered this story, it’s exhilarating, original and captivating. The way it is told keeps the reader intrigued as we get an insight into all the characters involved. There are no loose ends, Kates thoughts and Corbin’s actions are all nicely tied up. It surprised me how gripped I was by this book considering you kind of figured the ‘big twist’ halfway through, but it doesn’t deter you, if anything it makes you want to read it faster.

I loved this book, I even fell in love with Corbin a bit – don’t judge me! But I will definitely be looking out for more of Peter Swanson – Five out of five!

51VPQqdmr9L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

The Child || Fiona Barton

Description:

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it’s impossible to ignore.

For one woman, it’s a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her.

For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered.

And for the third, a journalist, it’s the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.

The Child’s story will be told.

Review:

The Child is a mysterious and gripping story surrounding the events that take place upon a child’s remains being found in an apartment block that is being demolished, this is not for the faint hearted the story is emotional and heart wrenching however a powerful read.

The story centres around four different women, the main protagonist being Kate Waters (who you may recognise from Bartons first novel the widow) Kate is a journalist who happens to come upon this story and won’t let it go – she is driven and determined to find out just what happened here decades ago.

The story also focuses on Angela a grieving mother who’s desperate to know what happened when her child was stolen from the hospital. Emma a quiet woman who see’s the remains have been found and worries her darkest secrets are going to come to light and Jude, Emma’s estranged mother who can’t bear to hear the news of the remains.

This book for me was a little slow compared to Barton’s previous novel The Widow, however I persevered and I’m glad I did – the ending was a complete shock, one I found hard to take in but was so cleverly done, it is completely different to Barton’s first novel but for anyone who enjoys a good, gripping thriller I would definitely recommend, 4 stars out of 5!

The Child: The Must-Read Richard and Judy Book Club Pick 2018

This Is How It Ends by Eva Dolan #BookReview

The Belgian Reviewer

This Is How It Ends def

What’s it about?

This is how it begins.

With a near-empty building, the inhabitants forced out of their homes by property developers.

With two women: idealistic, impassioned blogger Ella and seasoned campaigner, Molly.

With a body hidden in a lift shaft.

But how will it end?

amazon uk amazon com

Review

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars_1457015877_81_246_96_2

Waw. That ending! Those final chapters were so good they had me sitting on the edge of my seat. I really tore through the part ‘where it ends’ and couldn’t put it down. Needless to say that I’m still tired the morning after, but it was all very worth it. I can’t imagine anyone stopping in the middle of those final revelations.

If I have to be honest, I did have some niggles in the beginning which I want to share but I can assure you that they melted away in the end. The story is told by two protagonists, Molly the…

View original post 408 more words

#BookReview (5 Stars) – The Tattooist of Auschwitz, by Heather Morris @BonnierZaffre #Review

LittleMissNoSleep Daydreams of Books

Blurb:

For readers of Schindler’s ListThe Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas comes a heart-breaking story of the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances.

I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart.

In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival – scratching numbers into his fellow victims’ arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust.

Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale – a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer – it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did, too.

So begins one of the most life-affirming…

View original post 178 more words

Friend Request || Laura Marshall

Description:

Maria wants to be friends.
But Maria is dead . . . isn’t she?

When Louise Williams receives a message from someone left long in the past, her heart nearly stops.

Maria Weston wants to be friends on Facebook.

Maria Weston has been missing for over twenty-five years. She was last seen the night of a school leavers’ party, and the world believes her to be dead. Particularly Louise, who has lived her adult life with a terrible secret.

As Maria’s messages start to escalate, Louise forces herself to reconnect with the old friends she once tried so hard to impress. Trying to piece together exactly what happened that night, she soon discovers there’s much she didn’t know. The only certainty is that Maria Weston disappeared that night, never to be heard from again – until now. . .

Review:

Firstly – the title of the book itself gripped me, the ideas surrounding technology today absolutely fascinate me – no one will ever escape their past when their whole life is documented for the world to see and when it’s so easy to ‘re-connect’ with people you’re not so interested in reconnecting with.

This is exactly the case for Louise Williams – an average, single mother with an average day to day life hiding her innermost demons from the rest of the world and one day that threatens to crumble around her when she receives a Facebook request from Maria Weston – Maria is dead? Isn’t she?

This novel has a dual timeline between the late 80’s where Maria Weston is the new girl at school, who Louise is drawn too – not like her usual group of friends with whom although she is desperate to impress she doesn’t really like. When she’s with Maria, Louise can be herself – a true friend, but her usual group of friends are not going to accept this and so begins their story.

It also flips to to 2016 – the current day, where Louise has learn to put to bed her guilt of what happened ‘that night’ and pursue a relatively normal life. That is until the friend request comes in and all at once Louise must re-visit her past – the past she so desperately tried to escape and who knows what secrets she might uncover? What happened that night and who isn’t telling the full story?

This is a psychological thriller that once started you won’t be able to put down, it’s terrifying but gripping, it even had me looking over my shoulder and the end was totally unexpected. Fantastic book – I would definitely recommend it!

51CBcVg3rsL._SX316_BO1,204,203,200_